LifeLock Review

When thinking about identity theft protection, LifeLock tends to be top of mind. They weave together a robust list of features alongside readily available support and customized protection.

LifeLock

Features and Services

LifeLock offers 3 tiers of identity protection (Standard, Advantage, and Ultimate Plus) with more features included as you move up in plan type. All 3 plans offer:

  • US Based Restoration Team
  • SSN and Credit Alerts
  • Lost Wallet Protection
  • USPS Address Change Verification
  • Dark Web Monitoring
  • LifeLock Privacy Monitoring
  • Credit Monitoring of 1-3 Bureaus

  • If you enroll in Ultimate Plus, the highest equipped and most recommended plan, you’ll have access to additional features such as:

  • Alerts on Crimes Committed in Your Name
  • Data Breach Notifications
  • Annual Credit Reports
  • Sex Offender Registry Reports
  • Priority Live Member Support

  • As a LifeLock member, you possess a high amount of control over what you’d like to be alerted about, and how. You can receive alerts about account activity via email, call, or text and decide exactly what kind of information you do or do not want to be notified about. This kind of personalization is hard to find with other products, and its inclusion acknowledges that one size fits all isn’t the best fit when it comes to something as personal as identity protection. While it will take some time to set up your LifeLock account and alert preferences, it’s smooth sailing once you do.

    LifeLock strikes a comfortable balance between useful, action-oriented features and educational information, especially where the area of credit scores and reports are concerned. Opening up your user dashboard, LifeLock provides fast and easy to understand reasons for your credit score. Just below this, you’re able to learn about freezing your credit or contact the credit bureaus to freeze your credit. Below that, you can review any hard inquiries in to your credit or report an inaccuracy to the reporting bureau. This structure leaves you feeling confident that, in a stressful situation where your credit may be called in to question, you can get the information you need and take the appropriate actions, all from one page.

    Alongside LifeLock, you can also opt in to Norton Security services to secure your computer and devices from instances of malware, spyware, and online threats. In theory, this is an addition to your identity protection package that should be a no brainer.

    However, to protect your online searches and web activity with their browser extension, it’s required to make Norton Safe Search your default search provider, default web browser homepage, and default new tab page. We found this to be rather intrusive to every day web browser use, and overall, didn’t find it to add much value to the LifeLock package.

    Pricing

    LifeLock offers 3 tiers of protection plans (Standard, Advantage, and Ultimate Plus), each including a growing number of features as you move up in plan type, as well as a larger reimbursement for stolen funds if you’re the victim of identity theft.

    The Standard plan costs $9.99 per month for your first year and includes reimbursement of up to $25,000 for stolen funds. The Advantage plan costs $19.99 per month for your first year and includes reimbursement of up to $100,000 for stolen funds. Lastly, the Ultimate Plus plan costs $29.99 per month for your first year and includes reimbursement of up to $1 million for stolen funds.

    Each of these plans covers 1 individual and renews after your first year at $5 more per month. Paying for an entire year will garner you a 16% discount in overall price. And if you’re interested in protecting your family, you can add a LifeLock Junior subscription for your children, or a LifeLock Senior subscription to protect your parents or in-laws.

    Support and Customer Service

    If you need assistance and the self-service support options aren’t answering your questions, LifeLock can be reached 24 hours a day, 7 days a week by calling their Support team.

    Additionally, you can send a message to the Support team directly through the LifeLock mobile app. They state that typically, responses can take up to 24 hours, but we received answers to our questions within 10-15 minutes.

    Conclusion

    LifeLock provides healthy identity theft protection alongside a customized member experience. It’s versatile defense that has the ability to be a great fit for almost anyone, and is not to be skipped in your considerations for identity theft protection.

    If you opt for LifeLock, we recommend opting out of Norton Security. Due to the intrusive and disruptive nature of Norton’s protection, there are better options on the market that you can use to secure your device and protect your web browsing.

    Customer Reviews For LifeLock

    Mike Sherman - 1 week ago

    I just poured a stiff drink after talking with two different Life Lock agents and chatting with another. What a horrible experience. Thus, I am on the internet finding alternative options. I regret my membership just renewed a few weeks ago and they already have my money.

    Shay Packer - 2 weeks ago

    Could not understand the customer support person's English....and I am excellent with languages. 30 minutes of answering security questions only to be told she couldn't help me unless I upgraded to the 29.99 service. The other services only keep one's banking and all person al data.

    Sarah - 2 weeks ago

    Really BAD customer service now that LifeLock is owned by Symantec. Offshore (Philippines) customer service locations with staff who can barely communicate in English and who do not understand even the most basic questions. I didn't call with an ID theft issue but only to verify a rather suspicious email that purportedly was sent by LifeLock (red flag was internal link was broken though the return email address was correct). Trying to speak with a supervisor was frustrating and unsuccessful plus LONG holds. I canceled my membership - and my credit union has the SAME protections as LifeLock and even MORE than LifeLock and is only $4 a month. LifeLock INCREASED its monthly fee but DECREASED its customer service. I'm SO out of there!

    Clay Campbell - 2 weeks ago

    LifeLock is a complete scam. I changed my address two months ago and never received an alert. I applied for a brand new line of credit on a brand new home over two months ago and never received an alert. I called, and they said they don't monitor some institutions. Citibank isn't big enough for them? Request a full refund and they don't blink, because they know they are commiting a crime every day.

    Lloyd G Thomas - 1 month ago

    I tried this service before, and it was a very complicated request; especially speaking about privacy matters over the phone: pretty hard to explain when one has intellectual and development disadvantages, only to be left without additional support! i gave them what was needed , only for them to forward information to unknown sources. giving information over the phone and website may have not been secured! i used this website to address my history to reveal my legal matter and needs of assistance, i got turned away and unleashed my own history for others to see. what a way to place personal information for not understanding my disability and issues related to they're profile obtained via, phone and other sources of contact . i even used my own benefits to apply for this type of protection, seems like the system didn't complete they're trial. lifelock needs additional pre-screening and monitoring techniques; it's difficult for one like me to understand being denioed, sometimes i open up too much for all to see, only to be proven wrong

    Glenn - 1 month ago

    I have been a member for a few years. Suddenly in Sept. -2019 I began receiving emails and texts that an account was setup in my name - but I became very suspicious of the activity since they gave me the number of 1-800- 693-1134 - I checked the Internet and found it was a bogus number. I called Lifelock on their Internet number and like others, received a person in some foreign country I could not understand. When I told him what happen he stated, they never had a problem before ever - I said NOT - I know of people who have encountered the same problems as I did. They - the enemy - creates web pages that look just like LifeLock - I ask him what he is going to do about it - his comment - I will make a note of it. Lifelock can't even protect itself. Terrible organization. They will hound you with text messages and emails - but it is not LifeLock - be very careful who you talk to and who you give information. It's almost like if you enroll in LifeLock you're setting yourself up for being hacked and having your ID stolen, credit cards in your name and the like.

    Todd R - 1 month ago

    2 hours and 9 different people before I could cancel. The original operator made several mistakes. I started doing the application online and it crashed. This company outsources its service and I could not understand anyone. Horror Movie! I eventually cancelled after a few hours. Stay away.

    Nicole Sloane - 1 month ago

    Easy to sign up. Horrendous to get set up. Hours on the phone. Customer service representatives who don’t speak English. They entered my cell number incorrectly into the program and didn’t send me the correct email to set up my account. Out of desperation I called the sales number again who told me that everyone else got the correct email so I must be lying. I asked to cancel my account and that I am an attorney. She connected me immediately to the headquarters in Arizona. I was connected to a wonderful individual who helped me by sending me the initial email I had not received and walking me through the process. He was amazing but what I went through to get to him is still causing me heart pains.

    Nancy - 1 month ago

    I set up LifeLock with my bank when I joined. Two years later was the first time I wrote a check over $500, and LifeLock didn't notify me. The link with my bank was broken. How long? Maybe 2 years of no protection? They took my money every month.

    sharon - 1 month ago

    absolutely worthless don't waste your money.

    IFM - 1 month ago

    While a member, my credit number was stolen 2,600 charges made. No response, 2008 I was layoff. I try to close my account. I had to close my credit card to refuse payment.

    John dunker - 1 month ago

    We had a Notice from Lifelock while out of town that we had a potential problem. We called in but didn’t have the Password. They ask us what we paid last yearyear We were alerted by Lifelock while away from home for several weeks. Didn’t have the password. After 1 1/2 hours of talking with an ‘unintelligible agent’, we finally got a “Supervisor” that was totally hopeless. If you ever need Lifelock....they are USELESS! Never WASTE your money with them!

    Brent dooley - 1 month ago

    Terrible service. My identity was stolen while a member of Lifelock for about a decade. Then my address was changed at the credit bureau and Lifelock didn’t alert me once again. Terrible customer service when I called as well. Tried to advise me that my plan is no longer offered and I need to upgrade.

    dave r - 1 month ago

    I have been with Norton for years and find the product to be excellent. I recently wanted to upgrade my Norton 360 with Lifelock. To say the least it has been an ordeal. Initially, I was going to purchase 2 Delux plans to include Lifelock for me and Lifelock for my Mom. I was told when I tried to link the 2 accounts I would not be able to do that, however if I bought an Ultimate version, I should be able to add my Mom to my account. It has been 3 months since I cancelled my Delux version and I tried again today to get things straight with Norton/Lifeloc. I was told I am not able to link accounts nor is there an option to include my Mom on my account. It is completely reckless of Lifelock and Norton to negate the fact people want to enroll their Families on an identity theft tool. I am willing to pay an additional fee to include my Mom, BUT they don't even have that option. Their rational is SSN's are unique and most people do not want to share their private information. This assumption is completely false and completely plays into the hands of people who take advantage of seniors and families. Lifelock and Norton should recognize the need to be family-centric in this day and age! I am looking at alternatives and sadly when Norton no longer supports my version of 360, I will find other software to fill the void.

    Joyce Winston - 1 month ago

    This company is crazy. I cancelled my account. The operators don't speak well. After answering their security questions several time correctly they keep telling us we failed the test. We had our information in front of us. we had to get a supervisor to cancel our account. we opened accounts that never got reported to us. DO NOT USE THIS Company

    Features

    • $1M Identity Theft Insurance
    • Credit Monitoring
    • Dark Web Monitoring
    • Bank Account Takeover Monitoring
    • SSN Alias Watch
    • 24/7 365 Support
    • Dedicated Case Managers
    • Online Identity Dashboard
    • Mobile Application

    Compare Identity Protection Providers