LifeLock Review

When thinking about identity theft protection, LifeLock tends to be top of mind. They weave together a robust list of features alongside readily available support and customized protection.

LifeLock

Features and Services

LifeLock offers 3 tiers of identity protection (Standard, Advantage, and Ultimate Plus) with more features included as you move up in plan type. All 3 plans offer:

  • US Based Restoration Team
  • SSN and Credit Alerts
  • Lost Wallet Protection
  • USPS Address Change Verification
  • Dark Web Monitoring
  • LifeLock Privacy Monitoring
  • Credit Monitoring of 1-3 Bureaus

  • If you enroll in Ultimate Plus, the highest equipped and most recommended plan, you’ll have access to additional features such as:

  • Alerts on Crimes Committed in Your Name
  • Data Breach Notifications
  • Annual Credit Reports
  • Sex Offender Registry Reports
  • Priority Live Member Support

  • As a LifeLock member, you possess a high amount of control over what you’d like to be alerted about, and how. You can receive alerts about account activity via email, call, or text and decide exactly what kind of information you do or do not want to be notified about. This kind of personalization is hard to find with other products, and its inclusion acknowledges that one size fits all isn’t the best fit when it comes to something as personal as identity protection. While it will take some time to set up your LifeLock account and alert preferences, it’s smooth sailing once you do.

    LifeLock strikes a comfortable balance between useful, action-oriented features and educational information, especially where the area of credit scores and reports are concerned. Opening up your user dashboard, LifeLock provides fast and easy to understand reasons for your credit score. Just below this, you’re able to learn about freezing your credit or contact the credit bureaus to freeze your credit. Below that, you can review any hard inquiries in to your credit or report an inaccuracy to the reporting bureau. This structure leaves you feeling confident that, in a stressful situation where your credit may be called in to question, you can get the information you need and take the appropriate actions, all from one page.

    Alongside LifeLock, you can also opt in to Norton Security services to secure your computer and devices from instances of malware, spyware, and online threats. In theory, this is an addition to your identity protection package that should be a no brainer.

    However, to protect your online searches and web activity with their browser extension, it’s required to make Norton Safe Search your default search provider, default web browser homepage, and default new tab page. We found this to be rather intrusive to every day web browser use, and overall, didn’t find it to add much value to the LifeLock package.

    Pricing

    LifeLock offers 3 tiers of protection plans (Standard, Advantage, and Ultimate Plus), each including a growing number of features as you move up in plan type, as well as a larger reimbursement for stolen funds if you’re the victim of identity theft.

    The Standard plan costs $9.99 per month for your first year and includes reimbursement of up to $25,000 for stolen funds. The Advantage plan costs $19.99 per month for your first year and includes reimbursement of up to $100,000 for stolen funds. Lastly, the Ultimate Plus plan costs $29.99 per month for your first year and includes reimbursement of up to $1 million for stolen funds.

    Each of these plans covers 1 individual and renews after your first year at $5 more per month. Paying for an entire year will garner you a 16% discount in overall price. And if you’re interested in protecting your family, you can add a LifeLock Junior subscription for your children, or a LifeLock Senior subscription to protect your parents or in-laws.

    Support and Customer Service

    If you need assistance and the self-service support options aren’t answering your questions, LifeLock can be reached 24 hours a day, 7 days a week by calling their Support team.

    Additionally, you can send a message to the Support team directly through the LifeLock mobile app. They state that typically, responses can take up to 24 hours, but we received answers to our questions within 10-15 minutes.

    Conclusion

    LifeLock provides healthy identity theft protection alongside a customized member experience. It’s versatile defense that has the ability to be a great fit for almost anyone, and is not to be skipped in your considerations for identity theft protection.

    If you opt for LifeLock, we recommend opting out of Norton Security. Due to the intrusive and disruptive nature of Norton’s protection, there are better options on the market that you can use to secure your device and protect your web browsing.

    Customer Reviews For LifeLock

    Susan Kiefer - 2 months ago

    The absolute worst do not sign with them they are no help, they tell you have to deal with it, so why am I paying them? I got no notification that someone tried to open a discover account.

    Raymond Young - 3 months ago

    Norton was excellent, add Life Lock, and it's HORRIBLE. The web site to cancel your subscription is an "all day affair". The "chat" boxes go nowhere. No phone numbers. I finally talked to a very helpful person from India and he took all the information in a professional manner. I'll have to cancel thru the credit card if my hour was wasted. I have used NORTON for 35 years - now they are in the toilet with this LifeLock mess. RY

    Raymond Young - 3 months ago

    Norton was excellent, add Life Lock, and it's HORRIBLE

    Jim H - 3 months ago

    They have me running around for about a week now with three case number to try to get me enrolled. They have a hard time speaking English and understanding English. Now I am on hold for over 60 minutes trying to get a refund. If you thinking about getting this service don't. There are always very long wait times and they want you to call back. It doesn't matter if you call back you get the same runaround.

    Joe Higgins - 3 months ago

    THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER!!!! First operator flat out lied and told me I could cover my kids up to age 26. When I signed up for the family plan it informed me that only kids under 18 are covered. I was directed to the chat service who basically told me the operator was wrong. I was given a number to call about billing issues - it was out of service. I then had to sit through 3 different people telling me they could not help me get the refund to just cover my wife and I. You can do almost everything lifelock does on your own by setting up accounts at the 3 major credit companies and Chexsystems. Save your money and aggravation.

    Kae - 3 months ago

    The worst customer service ever!!!! You cannot understand what the customer service reps are saying and when I ask to speak to someone else, I get "well I can only transfer you to another rep"! What??? I asked to speak to a supervisor, but I guess they do not exist. My husband and I have been trying to set-up a family account and for whatever reason, he cannot add my name to his account...so why is he being charged for a family account???? This truly is the worst customer service. Sadly, what would happen if our identity, or accounts were compromised? Would we have 4 to 5 hour run-arounds on the phone to get nowhere?? Would we ever get resolution??? That's the scary part!

    Mark - 3 months ago

    These people are a rip-off. I had a Norton subscription and a life lock subscription. The two companies merged and they would not migrate the accounts together unless you called a dedicated line to migrate them. Then, they never answer the dedicated line. I’m just stuck on hold listening to their advertising. I was on hold for 24 minutes the first time I called. I hung up and called back 2 days later and gave up that time after 30 minutes on hold. The links they send don’t work, it says they can’t verify my identity. How the hell are you protecting my identity if you can’t even confirm my id through links you freaking sent me. I try to cancel, I’m told you can’t cancel until the paid period is up I turned off the automatic renewal, then I got an email saying my subscription will renew automatically. I returned to lifelock and deleted my payment information and reiterated I was canceling service. I got an email on February 27th saying my account was canceled and no further charges would be made. I look at my credit card information on y bank account and they have 3 separate charges totaling over $54. I can’t login to lifelock, it says I canceled and am no longer authorized to use the site. I try calling lifelock only to have to go through their bs automation which eventually tells me I can’t be verified. I’m put on hold and finally transferred to a rep who asked me 5 different questions to verify my identity. I answered and they said they needed to ask more questions to verify my identity. WTF. He then refused to access my account because, wait for it, he couldn’t verify my identity. I’ve had lifelock and Norton for years. When they combined, everything went to shit. Avoid these idiots.

    Chad - 3 months ago

    I first liked the service but upon Norton joining in the situation, I have had the worst experience accessing my account and speaking to people who can help. I am canceling all services with LIfelock and switching. I have called 7 or 8 times and cant get no one to help. They keep escalating my concerns and no one follows up. Huge thumbs down for this service!

    Edgar - 3 months ago

    Read the prior reviews and understand that there is no improvement as of Feb. 2021

    Marty Ayers - 4 months ago

    I have had to deal with their customer (non) service reps several different times... only one of which (in the last few months) has spoken English well enough to really understand. One agent actually asked me "do you have Verizon's (Verizon Wireless) PERMISSION to switch (my mobile phone service) to T-Mobile?" I keep getting notices that my LifeLock coverage has ended and when I call I am told that it will cost me more than I am currently paying.. meanwhile the website states that my coverage is "in force" VERT confusing

    John DeKam - 4 months ago

    These people are still the worst servicing company around. Try to get back on,when you get knocked off. They suck!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Don - 4 months ago

    Accounts are constantly disconnected or are "currently not receiving daily updates," sometimes occurring without my knowledge. Their response is that the financial institution is going through security adjustments and that I should check and refresh my accounts daily. So, why do I need LifeLock?

    Greg Clements - 4 months ago

    Cuustomer service is non existant , called 2 different days, no one ever answered

    gary rains - 4 months ago

    Quick Links cannot be edited. I don't use the providers they are forcing me to see, like Yahoo, Twitter and Facebook. . When my subscription is up I will find another provider. I see many of the same anger when researching to edit. It also appears to disrupt my searches with their preferances, DO NOT RECOMMEND.

    Jason Job - 4 months ago

    This is the absolute worst company I have ever dealt with. Their customer service is non-existant. You will wait an average of 1 hour on hold, get hung up on and you have no way of contacting this company except through a phone call or a chat (which can be up to a 3 or 4 hour wait). Stay away from this company!!!

    Features

    • 3 Bureau Credit Monitoring
    • Monthly Credit Score
    • Dark Web Monitoring
    • Hi-Risk Transaction Monitoring
    • Risk Management Score
    • Bank Account Takeover Monitoring
    • SSN Alias Watch
    • 24/7 365 Support
    • Dedicated Case Managers
    • Online Identity Dashboard
    • Mobile Application

    Compare Identity Protection Providers